Electronic music duo Blue Hawaii shares new song ‘Feelin’

Fresh off the back of the announcement of Blue Hawaii’s new mixtape Under 1 House,  the Montreal by way of Berlin duo (encompassing Raphaelle “Ra” Standell-Preston and Alex “Agor” Kerby) deliver a luscious, bleary-eyed new track “Feelin’” – the mixtape’s opening statement.  Aptly named Under 1 House, the recently announced collection flaunts slinky four-to-the-floor beats alongside wistful, woozy vocals, fit for moonlit dance-floor excursions (which surely we are all eagerly re-awaiting) and daydreamy poolside basking.  On “Feelin’”, the pair’s distinctive groove-ridden sound is bolstered by deep moving subs and skittering drum sequences, “have you ever had this feeling?” echoes through like an invitation to explore late-night impulses, and ultimately – the rest of the new project.

 In their own words; “”We jammed out the song following a series of shows in North America and Europe where the crowd would respond best to no frills, fun and straightforward grooves with a nice loud vocal on top. The song mimics the feeling of those concerts and contains a classic touch of house music with the added flair of live saxophone and loose drum programming.”

 Under 1 House was written during Blue Hawaii’s 2019 North American and European tours, and recorded at a wood cabin in rural Québec. Finding each other trapped on different sides of the Atlantic, the record was then finished over long-distance between Montreal and Berlin due to COVID-19 travel restrictions.

 This music is dedicated to the spirit of togetherness. Unity achieved through confidence, in the seductive redemption of one’s own sexuality, finding power in feelin’ one’s self. Under 1 House honours the magnetism of impulse and first takes. This flow can be found in the brooding, early Warp Records reminiscent “Where are the Keys???”, the sub-heavy, lustful organ groove of “Feelin’”, the lo-fi high energy  “I Felt Love” or the chanting of “I’m my own damn woman” during the screeched ending of “Not my Boss!”.

 Blue Hawaii have been around for a decade, having released 3 full length albums and two EPs to date. Consisting of Ra and Ag, the duo met throwing parties and shows in Montreal and continue to create together despite living in separate cities – split between Montreal and Berlin. Under 1 House will be released September 25th on cassette and digital via their life-long home of Arbutus Records.


  1. Feelin’
  2. I Felt Love
  3. Not my boss!
  4. Where r the Keys???
  5. Let it Be Us
  6. No More Drama

Follow Blue Hawaii:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail